Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata
Contents

Overview

Occasionally you may experience errors starting Studio. Here are some suggested solutions.

Icon

See Switching your Workspace to help find your current workspace location

Workspace in use or cannot be created, choose a different one

This can happen as a result of an improper shutdown of Studio. To resolve the issue, you need to delete a .lock file.

  1. Delete the file %WORKSPACE_PATH%/.metadata/.lock, and restart Studio

An Error Has Occurred

These are errors pop up a dialog box, asking you to look at a log file

See the log file /Users/....

Open the log file at the specified location. If you see messages like:

It is caused by this bug in Eclipse, most likely due to a case where Studio quit or was closed unexpectedly, corrupting a particular file.

Steps to fix:

  1. Copy your whole workspace first, so that you are not risking your original files when you attempt these steps
  2. Delete the file %WORKSPACE_PATH%/.metadata/.plugins/org.eclipse.core.resources/.snap, and restart Studio

This will start Studio, but your workspace will most likely be missing your projects. This is okay--you can quickly reimport them

  1. File > Import > Existing Projects....
  2. Select the workspace directory from above, and finish the wizard

Launching the Studio with -clean

If Studio does not appear to work properly, you can try and launch it with a -clean option.

  1. Follow the instructions here for adding a launcher argument.
  2. Add -clean to the launch arguments for Studio or Eclipse.

How to stop Studio from loading a problem file

A file might be causing trouble when Studio is restarted because it is very large or in some way corrupted. There are a couple of ways you could prevent Studio from loading the file.

  • Rename the problem file. This means Studio can no longer find it and so will ignore the file on restart.
  • Delete the <studio_workspace>\.metadata\.plugins\org.eclipse.ui.workbench\workbench.xml file, where the state of workbench when exiting is saved. This means Studio will not preload any files that were open on the last exit.